Mayors of select U.S. cities.

A mayor is the leader of a municipal government. Mayors have varying levels of influence over the legislation put forth by the municipal council, but in most larger cities they act as the head of the municipality’s executive branch. Below, StateScape provides a list of the mayors from municipalities with populations over 500,000. Knowing the political party and term expiration of the mayor can help you decipher the balance of political power in these cities.

Locality Mayor Term Expires
New York NY Bill DeBlasio (D) 2018
Chicago IL Rahm Emanuel (D) 2019
Dallas TX Mike Rawlings (D) 2019
St. Louis MO Francis Slay (D) 2017
Denver CO Michael Hancock (D) 2017
Atlanta GA Kasim Reed (D) 2018
Miami FL Tomás Regalado (R) 2018
Seattle WA Ed Murray (D) 2018
Omaha NE Jean Stothert (R) 2017
Cleveland OH Frank Jackson (D) 2018
Salt Lake City UT Jackie Biskupski (D) 2020
Houston TX Sylvester Turner (D) 2020
Philadelphia PA Jim Kenney (D) 2020
Phoenix AZ Greg Stanton (D) 2020
San Antonio TX Ivy Taylor (I) 2017
San Jose CA Sam Liccardo (D) 2017
San Diego CA Kevin Faulconer (R) 2017
Austin TX Steve Adler (D) 2018
Jacksonville FL Lenny Curry (D) 2019
Indianapolis IN Joseph Hogsett (D) 2020
San Francisco CA Ed Lee (D) 2019
Columbus OH Andrew Ginther (D) 2020
Fort Worth TX Betsy Price (R) 2019
Charlotte NC Jennifer Roberts (D) 2019
Detroit MI Mike Duggan (D) 2018
El Paso TX Oscar Leeser (I) 2017
Memphis TN Jim Strickland (D) 2020
Baltimore MD Catherine E. Pugh (D) 2020
Boston MA Marty Walsh (D) 2018
Nashville TN Megan Barry (D) 2019
Louisville KY Greg Fischer (D) 2019
Milwaukee WI Tom Barrett (D) 2020
Portland OR Ted Wheeler (D) 2021
Las Vegas NV Carolyn Goodman (I) 2019
Oklahoma City OK Mick Cornett (R) 2018
Albuquerque NM Richard Berry (R) 2018
Tucson AZ Jonathan Rothschild (D) 2019
Fresno CA Lee Brand (R) 2021
Sacramento CA Darrell Steinberg (D) 2020
Long Beach CA Robert Garcia (D) 2018
Kansas City MO Sly James (I) 2019
Mesa AZ John Giles (R) 2018
Virginia Beach VA Will Sessoms (R) 2017
Colorado Springs CO John Suthers (R) 2019
Raleigh NC Nancy McFarlane (I) 2017
Tulsa OK G. T. Bynum (R) 2020
Oakland CA Libby Schaaf (D) 2019
Minneapolis MN Betsy Hodges (D) 2018
Wichita KS Jeff Longwell (R) 2019
Arlington TX Jeff Williams (I) 2017