Learn more about the governors.

Knowing the political party of the governor in each state gives you an idea of the balance of power between the executive and legislature. Term expiration information indicates when the balance of power may change. It also helps you to predict how the executive's power to sign or veto might influence a bill's progress through the legislature. The individual governor information found by clicking on the provided link leads you directly to the specific governor’s page, and also provides you with other useful information. 

State Governor Term Expires Term Limited
Alabama Kay Ivey (R) 2018 No
Alaska Bill Walker (I) 2018 No
Arizona Doug Ducey (R) 2018 No
Arkansas Asa Hutchinson (R) 2018 No
California Jerry Brown (D) 2018 Yes
Colorado John Hickenlooper (D) 2018 Yes
Connecticut Dannel Malloy (D) 2018 No
Delaware John Carney (D) 2020 No
District of Columbia Mayor Muriel Bowser (D) 2018 No
Florida Rick Scott (R) 2018 Yes
Georgia Nathan Deal (R) 2018 Yes
Guam Eddie Calvo (R) 2018 Yes
Hawaii David Ige (D) 2018 No
Idaho C.L. "Butch" Otter (R) 2018 No
Illinois Bruce Rauner (R) 2018 No
Indiana Eric Holcomb (R) 2020 No
Iowa Kim Reynolds (R) 2018 No
Kansas Jeff Colyer (R) 2018 No
Kentucky Matt Bevin (R) 2019 No
Louisiana John Bel Edwards (D) 2019 Yes
Maine Paul LePage (R) 2018 Yes
Maryland Larry Hogan (R) 2018 No
Massachusetts Charlie Baker (R) 2018 No
Michigan Rick Snyder (R) 2018 Yes
Minnesota Mark Dayton (D) 2018 Yes
Mississippi Phil Bryant (R) 2015 No
Missouri Mike Parson (R) 2020 No
Montana Steve Bullock (D) 2016 No
Nebraska Pete Ricketts (R) 2018 No
Nevada Brian Sandoval (R) 2018 Yes
New Hampshire Chris Sununu (R) 2018 No
New Jersey Phil Murphy (D) 2017 No
New Mexico Susana Martinez (R) 2018 Yes
New York Andrew Cuomo (D) 2018 Yes
North Carolina Roy Cooper (D) 2016 No
North Dakota Doug Burgum (R) 2020 No
Ohio John Kasich (R) 2018 Yes
Oklahoma Mary Fallin (R) 2018 Yes
Oregon Kate Brown (D) 2018 No
Pennsylvania Tom Wolf (D) 2018 No
Puerto Rico Ricardo Rosselló Nevares 2021 Yes
Rhode Island Gina Raimondo (D) 2018 No
South Carolina Henry McMaster (R) 2018 No
South Dakota Dennis Daugaard (R) 2018 Yes
Tennessee Bill Haslam (R) 2018 Yes
Texas Greg Abbott (R) 2018 No
U.S. Virgin Islands Kenneth Mapp (I) 2018 No
Utah Gary Herbert (R) 2016 No
Vermont Phil Scott (R) 2018 No
Virginia Ralph Northam (D) 2021 Yes
Washington Jay Inslee (D) 2016 No
West Virginia Jim Justice (R) 2021 No
Wisconsin Scott Walker (R) 2018 No
Wyoming Matt Mead (R) 2018 Yes
United States President Donald J. Trump (R) 2021 No